Friday, February 6, 2015

Joint Team to Look at Constitutional Legislative Reform for Internal Self Government for Tobago

The Prime Minister has announced the establishment of a joint team to look at constitutional legislative reform in relation to internal self-government for Tobago.

Leader of Government Business in the Senate Ganga Singh, Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism Lincoln Douglas, Food Production Minister Devant Maharaj and Minister of Tobago Development Dr Delmon Baker will form part of the team to work with the THA.

Media Release:

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar today announced the establishment of a joint team, at the request of the Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly, to further examine the issue of constitutional legislative reform with regard to internal self-Government for Tobago.

The Prime Minister today wrote to THA Chief Secretary, Mr. Orville London, reaffirming her Governments commitment to internal self-Government for Tobago, and expressing her agreement to the establishment of a joint team to look at this important issue.

Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar has mandated Senator the Honourable Ganga Singh, Minister of Environment and Water Resources, the Honourable Lincoln Douglas, Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism, Senator the Honourable Devant Maharaj, Minister of Food Production, and the Honourable Dr. Delmon Baker, Minister of Tobago Development to work with the THA in this regard.

The Prime Minister also informed Mr. London that he can expect a carefully deliberated response from the Attorney General regarding the issue of reported incursions into areas devolved to the THA under the Fifth Schedule by the Central Government.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Disqus for TobagoDaily