Friday, January 25, 2013

Orville Calls for Two Independent Councillors.

Dr. Keith Rowley and his Wife

Newly sworn-in Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Chief Secretary Orville London has written to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar calling for the law to be changed to allow an alternative voice on the totally People's National Movement (PNM)-controlled THA.
Speaking to reporters following yesterday's inauguration of the new THA in Scarborough, Tobago, London said he has written to the Prime Minister and copied the letter to the Opposition in which he is recommending Parliament should meet and have the President appoint two independent councillors in his own discretion.
There is now no Minority Leader in the Assembly following the election whereby the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) lost all its seats to the PNM. TOP leader Ashworth Jack previously held the post.
It is customary, according to the THA Act 40 of 1996, that the minority in the Assembly elects one councillor on the advice of the Minority Leader.
"I said two because what that will mean is that you will have the opportunity for those councillors to move motions, have the motions seconded, and guarantee we will have a debate," London said.
London said the matter should be done as a matter of urgency as it augurs well for the well-being and organisation of the Assembly.
In addition, within the next two weeks London said he will be meeting with interest groups, economist Dr Vanus James, Platform of Truth leader Hochoy Charles, the Chamber of Commerce and the Youth League on the way forward for Tobago.
He also wants his secretaries and assistant secretaries to be more in touch with their communities.
"I'll also be advising or maybe instructing that they must hold sessions with their electoral districts at least once a month," London said.
He said the new faces added to his team were a blending of youth and experience.
Commenting on Jack's absence from the ceremony, London said as far as he was aware, all political parties which took part in the election received invitations. The only person observed in the chamber representing the TOP was former assemblyman Steve Jack. Tracy Davidson-Celestine, Secretary, Division of Tourism and Transportation, has replaced Hilton Sandy who had made the controversial statement of the "Calcutta' ship as deputy THA chief secretary.
Members of the new THA: THA Chief Secretary: Orville London Deputy Chief Secretary: Assemblywoman: Tracey Davidson-Celestine Assemblywoman: Claudia Groome- Duke, also appointed Leader of Assembly Business Assemblyman: Hilton Sandy, stripped of his former portfolio of Deputy Chief Secretary. Assemblyman: Huey Cadette Assemblyman: Joel Jack Assemblyman: Handel Beckles Assemblyman: Sheldon Cunningham Assemblyman: Ancil Dennis Assemblyman: Jomo Pitt Assemblyman: Hayden Spencer Presiding Officer: Kelvin Charles Councillor: Denise Tsoi-a-Fatt-Angus Councillor: Dion Isaac, also appointed Deputy Presiding Officer Councillor: Gary Melville.

Reproduced from Trinidadexpress

No comments:

Post a Comment

Disqus for TobagoDaily